Silent Words

What were we supposed to do?

Love was a luxury we couldn’t afford.

And now time stands still for me,

Every ripple in my heart, it is a conspiracy.

Stay still, don’t put a price on this setting sun,

I chose to spend the night, in a world with no warnings and signs.

I surrender to the words of the wind and tonight.

The waves renew my life. I made mistakes, but I tried,

I tried to be something that I didn’t want to be.

There’s a child, a child in me who took the high road when given a choice.

He didn’t get far, but now he’s out in the wild.

It might take him a while; he’ll grow up on his terms this time.

And I just, I keep running, to find the words, the words I like,

the words to close the book on who I become this time.

12 thoughts on “Silent Words

Add yours

  1. O ican sooo relate to this “There’s a child, a child in me who took the high road when given a choice.
    He didn’t get far, but now he’s out in the wild.” Beautiful poem! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

