A Swiftly Affair

When going too fast,

everything from the top seems hazier.

The rush is there, but it doesn’t last.

When we stop moving,

the effects of the speed start catching up to me.

I love that thrill so much that I don’t mind experiencing it alone.

It matters a little that I chase the buzz

because when it wears off, I see the truth.

I guess I am lucky it was just at a fair;

because my speed is making things hazier.

Too soon or too late that I realized,

I want to walk alongside the people in my life.

In no sad or depressed way,

but that rush isn’t fun unless I get to share it.

And yes I’ll be praised, and yes I’ll be admired.

What good is it though if that’s not what I desire?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

